Reality

We stood by Riverside Park. She was smoking a cigarette and I was look for way to tell her I love you. Here’s how it played in my mind:

You’re an ethereal beauty,

something out of a novel

and I’ve loved you since I knew your name,

since I heard your voice,

since

seems like forever.

And in reality it played like this:

I gently took her left hand as she was pulling the last bits of nicotine from cigarette, folding her palm into mine. And when she looked to her side, I smiled. And I kept staring, and she was puzzled, “what are you smiling at” and I told her “love”.

Leave a Reply

