Old Plea 

I lay myself before you 

Plastered on this concrete 

Asking for forgiveness 

Begging for guidance

And waiting for an audience 

I bear these marks on my flesh 

These scars

Due to past transgressions

And it’s hard to forget 

But I beg you 

As a man

Look past my past 

For there was growth between then and now 

I’ve changed not only as a man 

But as a being

Give me counsel 

For an amendment 

I’ve broken bones to become this man 

I’ve broken my mind

My heart and my soul 

All in the name of growth, 

I’ve transformed 

All I beg is that you love me again 

That you care for me again 

That you fight for me again, 

That we do the things we used to do 

Again 

Please 

Leave a Reply

