Astronauts

Her body was the sky, glowing like stars and rich in its depth. I’ve never wanted to be an astronaut till the day she undressed in front of me. And I sat there, on the bed staring at I could only assume was the Universe. Even her navel had a gravity strong enough to make my knees buckle. There she was. Naked. In all her glory, calling me towards her as if she were to devour me. And in those moments, when we would hold each other close, chest to chest, my hands in her hair I would only think “what blessings have been bestowed upon me for this?” Everything about her is celestial. Everything. And the first time we made love, we laughed, we cried, we cuddled and discovered each other like astronauts. I miss those days. I miss those travels.

Leave a Reply

