The Time

I’ve learned that although love may not expire it does get weary. It gets heavy and burdensome. And that’s what happened between us. That’s what divided us and made a break up the only viable option for continuing. We’re still friends, trying to act like best friends, but I love you so much. Maybe too much to be anything but together, and maybe that’s immaturity. Maybe that me holding on to something that is clearly gone. Maybe, maybe that me revolting against the tides. I love you. I’m sorry I didn’t show it for so long. And now that we’re just friends, now that I have to love you from afar, I can see the mistakes I’ve made. I can see how deep the wound is. I can sense and taste it. I let us down. I let you down. I let myself down. I just want to love you again, and I know it isn’t the time. But why can’t it be?

Leave a Reply

