Geography

I used to climb your back

like mountaineers

like the Alpine ibex,

it was my habitat,

i lived in the dimples

on the small of your back,

Would trek the trail

every morning

like pilgrimage,

kisses beneath your shoulder blades

and the nape of your neck,

your skin

sensitive to the touch

but I was gentle,

I used to document your body

like painters,

map makers,

in your form I found

the land of the covenant,

detailed every crevasse

in shorthand,

I knew you were a treasure

beyond understanding,

I found peace

in your waters,

the calming and soothing waves

would wash over me

and all will be tranquil.

I love you

Leave a Reply

